by Bob Lawrence of Wichita, KS

Bob Lawrence has attended 20 plus “Hutchinson Nationals” out of the 60 consecutive years the event has been run. The first race, in 1957, was run around a football field at Taft Stadium in Oklahoma City. However, the facility proved to be too small for the colossal turnout so it was moved the following year to the Kansas State Fairgrounds in Hutchinson, Kansas.

While drivers insist on being there, knowing that their careers won’t be complete unless they win that race at least once; car owners dread the expense because the event is well known for being hard on engines. Harold Leep and Mike Peters are tied with a record 5 open-wheel victories each while Buddy Mullens holds the closed-wheel record of 10 victories at the Hutchinson Nationals.  You’ll want to join us as we examine the history of this race to see how it has evolved and yet remains as one of the nation’s premier dirt racing events.