Even though the Racers Reunion Banquet was lost to the COVID-19 pandemic, this year marks the sixth time that Radius Nation has awarded the Brady Bacon Baton Award Presented by Industrial Rubber Technologies to recognize a young racer that Brady sees as a future star in our sport. Brady, a third-generation racer, is well-equipped to spot future talent, as he is the four-time USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car champion and races in three USAC National series.

At the 2017 Racers Reunion Banquet, we started a new racing tradition as we presented the first Brady Bacon Baton Award to Giovanni “Gio” Scelzi, then in 2018 Jason “J-Mac” McDougal was the driver to look for in the future. In 2019 Brady’s choice was Michael “Buddy” Kofoid from Penngrove California followed by Cannon McIntosh for 2020. Ryan Timms, the youngest driver to ever win a Lucas Oil POWRi National Midget League event at 14 Years, 9 months, and 24 days, received the honors in 2021.

We are proud to announce that Corey Day of Clovis, California is the 2022 Brady Bacon Baton award winner.


In 2022, Day accumulated four Northern Auto Racing Club (NARC) wins, which tied him with Series Champion Dominic Scelzi for wins in the 2022 season with the 410 west coast sprints.

Success was also realized in the 360 sprints at Stockton and Hanford. Proving to be a versatile driver Day will be returning to Tulsa in January for the 37th Chili Bowl Nationals driving for Matt Wood Racing, where he scored Rookie of the Year in the 2022 Chili Bowl Nationals feature event.